Site Passwords

  • Updated

If you want to launch your website to a limited audience or keep it private during your testing phase, you can protect it with a password. Everyone who knows the password will be able to access your site. You can change or remove the password at any time. When you create or change a site password, everyone who has previously accessed the site will also need to enter the new password.

Site passwords are available on all paid plans. If you are on our free plan, you'll need to upgrade before being able to use site passwords.

How to set a site password

You can set the password in your site settings dashboard. Just visit https://app.umso.com and click on the site you want to manage. Click on Site Settings and find the "Password" under "General".

After creating, changing, or removing a password, you need to click on "Save Password" to apply your changes. The change will become effective immediately. You don't have to publish your site again.

 

What your visitors see

When you set a password on your site, everyone who visits it will need to enter the password before viewing your site. Your site will also not be accessible by search engines or bots. 

mceclip1.png

Once a visitor enters the correct password, they will be redirected to your normal site content. A cookie will be set to remember the login information of that user so that they don't have to log in again the next time they visit. However, if you change the password, all previously logged-in users will have to log in again. 

Was this article helpful?